# KAO Minutes Board of Directors Meeting September 12, 2008

**Present:** Sharon Hunt - Exec. Dir. SAO, Dr. Mark Johnston - Pres. SAO, KAO **Officers,** Dr. Stan Ferguson - Pres., Dr. Charles Parsons - Pres-Elect, Dr. Chris Howell - Sec/Treas, Dr. William Engilman - Sr. Director, Dr. Janice Struckoff – Jr. Director

Treasurer's Report - Dr. Charles Parsons Chase Bank Checking: \$9,036.38 Henssler Equity Fund: \$23,983.29

Vanguard Short-Term Bond Index: \$24,274.77

CNT Cash Mgmt. Fund: \$518.07

## AAO Delegate Report - Dr. Jeri Stull

Jeri discussed establishment of orthodontic fellowships/grants for junior faculty members. These fellowships will provide grants of \$30,000 per year to eleven faculty members. The "More than a smile" media campaign has been expanded by the AAO House of Delegates to a level of \$830 per member until 2010-2011.

## SAO Director Report - Dr. Stan Ferguson

Stan reported on the Key Contact program where members refer leads to contacts at the state and federal level. Additionally, he reported on HIPAA and Ergonomic issue which the SAO is concerned about. He also reviewed the SAO Leadership Development Program and its benefits to our society. Finally, he welcomed new members to the KAO.

### SAO Executive Director - Ms. Sharon Hunt

Ms. Hunt reviewed a change in dues. She also talked about the 2002 Insurance for Orthodontics Guide which is available from the SAO.

#### SAO President - Dr. Mark Johnston

Dr. Johnston discussed the AAO leadership conference in Feb 2009. He also discussed the SAO Leadership development program and encouraged a representative from the KAO. The program requires 3 face to face meetings on Jan 11 2009, March 13 200, and at the SAO meeting.

#### **Business**

- KY specialty exam has been rewritten and will be used at the next board examination
- A discussion of changing the bylaws for the Sec/Treasure to a two year term
- donations to both UofL & UK increased to \$5,000 each was voted on and approved
- A discussion into using a sweep account for the checking account was made and will be investigated into
- •The web site will continue to be maintained by Televox and Jeri Stull

# Election of officers for '08-'09

President - Dr. Charles Parsons President Elect - Dr. Chris Howell Sec/Treas - Dr. William Engilman Sr. Director - Dr. Janice Struckoff Jr. Director - Dr. Jay Lawless SAO Director - Dr. Stan Ferguson

Meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted, William D. Engilman, DMD, MS KAO Sec/Treas